top of page

My Skin Part Two

So back to my skin, as you could see on my Skin Issues Part One my acne was verging on severe and I mean a pizza face with double pepperoni! I like to joke but in all seriousness I was really down about my skin, friends and family would look past it but others on first meeting I felt judged me on the condition of my skin not by my skill as an artist. It started to take over my life an obsession over what on earth am I doing wrong, as before in my blog I mentioned I have a balanced diet, I don’t eat diary as it makes me ill and I rarely eat fatty foods if I can avoid them, not minding the odd fast take out for those lazy days and busy lunch runs! So I as I left the last blog I started my treatment, adivised by my dermatologist, Roaccutine (Isotretinion). Now this tablet is dangerous and is heavily emphasised please try and keep to advise of your doctor when taking these, low alcohol or none at all, less fatty foods, good balanced diet of fruit and veg, also no harsh skin products as the tablet itself will be sucking the oils out of your skin so you want to try and replenish this lost oils by eating healthy and keeping away from dehydration.

I was put on a low dosage at first of 20mg this is advised as this tablet could have strong side effects , oh another thing ladies you have to be on a contraceptive, sexually active or not you HAVE to be on one as if you fall pregnant they could be some serious consequences. So my first month I hardly noticed a thing apart from my lips drying out a tad nothing no even my skin changed, went back to my dermatologist for my monthly check and blood test result for my liver and everything was a ok! So my dermatologist upped my dosage to 30mg, my lips dried out more but my skin started to show results, no new nasties appeared and began to feel confident about the treatment.

Month three I was upped again to 40mg but this started to cause a problem my skin was clear which was amazing but the inside of my nose dried out quite suddenly following with nose bleeds, my skin started to itch and my dermatitis started to appear in patches, this started to get me down a bit as flakes of skin on my lips would fall off, and I was getting a little sweaty on the brow and top lip which I never experienced before. So as this month should more side effects one I could cope with I decided to lower my dose back to 30mg and on my monthly check my dermatologist said that was fine and prescribed me back to 30mg.

Im now in month five still on 30mg and my skin is clearing nicely, I advise this tablet but of course its not for everyone, my only announce is my lips they are dry constantly and I mean constantly and the best balm to use is a butter balm not a wax as it fall off your lips, my favourite at the moment is ‘Avene cold cream’ but the only down fall it makes your lips pale, for my everyday out and about I can always rely on ‘Carmex’. For my body I always moisturise but I love ‘Palmers Coca Butter’ and for my face I use the best face cream ‘La Rouche-Posay (Hydreane Riche). Hope this helps anyone suffering as I know how it feels to want to rip your skin off!

Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • LinkedIn Classic
  • Tumblr Classic
bottom of page