top of page

'Textual Relationship'Short

So firstly I’m gonna apologies for not writing a blog last week its been a little hectic and instead of just writing for the purpose of it id rather write something worth while.

So last year (2014) I was asked by a friend of mine Producer/Director Syd Heather if I would be willing to help on his new project, Textual Relationship. Knowing I had just completed a Makeup Course Syd wanted me to obviously be in charge of that department but as the project was extremely low budget and keeping crew to a minimum I also took on the roles of Costume and Production Design.

Me personally I like to be organized so when it comes to Makeup and film shoots I like to try and be SUPER organized as your not alone dealing with numerous actors on a day to day basis but the big C word continuity, but the thing is I wasn’t just keeping an eye on makeup I said I would do two other major jobs on this production, WHOOPS!

After thoroughly going through the drafted script I highlighted and noted key points for each, Makeup, Costume and Design. As Makeup and Costume work together I kept them as one section to make my life a little easier, I split the script into days, periods between scenes (weeks, years, hours??) and locations so if it s winter they would be wearing coats but then I’m spring it would be lighter clothing, with makeup if there is a passing of time the guy could grow a bit of a stubble between scenes, the girl maybe different hairstyles, something to show a passing and different day and time. Now as this was months before the production there came several drafts of scripts, consisting of changes so I found flexibility a key point when working in film.

Running up to production we had many meetings so everyone is on the same page and especially as an artist you have work closely with the director to hopefully share the same vision as they do. Meetings are a chance o voice concerns and misunderstandings of the production and to problem solve any issues.

When it came to filming it was a long and intense seven days, working and staying with the crew you become a mini family. I worked closely with the fantastic DOP Daniel Salter and Director on set as we needed to be on the same page throughout the shoot for rooms needed to be set, costume ready and makeup checked, always trying to keep one step ahead.

The Makeup I wanted to keep naturel as the film is set in the present day and deals with the everyday person in the world on Internet dating. The beautiful Sarah Langrish-Smith was playing the lead, her character as discussed with Syd needed to reflect the modern women someone who the audience could relate to, so with the film flipping from day to day, morning to evening Sarah would go from a office blouse and high waist skirt to a full on onsie and high ponytail, her makeup was naturel but camera friendly, I used a matterfying primer No7 and MACs Studio Fix foundation, highlighted her eyes with mascara and slight naturel eye shadow along with a hint of rouge on the apple of her cheeks.

For the wonderful David Frias-Robles, who plays Sarah’s

interest, he again needed to reflect the common man so nothing overly styled in hair or clothes, so I kept in grey and blues to reflect the coldness of the relationship and his hair fell naturally into a quiff. David naturally has a beard, which for continuity purposes we had to note trim settings and make sure there’s an essence of change showing time passing. For David’s makeup I again used Professional Primer to seal in any pores, followed by a N07 light foundation, clear mascara on the brow and eyelashes sand powder.

The shoot was fun but intense, I don’t want to babble so I have kept it short and briefly gave you an insight to the behind the scenes of the magical Textual Relationship, hopefully soon to be released!

Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • LinkedIn Classic
  • Tumblr Classic
bottom of page